Choose Your Own Adventure

So I’ve been thinking a lot lately about God’s plan for my life. I have no doubt that I’ve been leading my life for too long, instead of allowing the Holy Spirit to guide my steps. While I do not regret the choices I’ve made (since, of course, they have helped to shape me into who I am today), I do know that my life would be completely different had I made other choices. That’s an obvious assumption.
But do I really have a choice in what happens in my life? I believe I do, but I was reading about the idea of predetermination and thinking back to Mr. Barmettler’s class (where we read and discussed things like “Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God”) and it made me wonder…if I didn’t have a choice in which direction my life went, where would I be now? I look back and I see how my choices affected the person I am today. They were not (by any means) all great (or even good) choices, but those that were good all led me to God! Does that mean predetermination? Does that mean that God has decided who He will lead to His Kingdom and who will be left out? (Of course not – God wants all to come to know Him, no matter the person, the history, the season of life.) After all, the Bible does say that He knew me even before He formed me in my mother’s womb and that all my days were written in His book before even one of them came to be.
Well, in my mind, that book that my days are written in is NOT just your regular, everyday novel. I think of the book of my life, which God wrote before He even formed me, as a “Choose Your Own Adventure Book.” Do you remember those? I used to love reading those books. At the end of every chapter, you had to make a decision as to what would happen next. If you wanted the hero to defeat the dragon, you had to turn to page 46. However, if you wanted the hero to fall into a pit of snakes, you had to turn to page 73. And on and on it went. That is how I see life…God has written a plan for me, but each decision I make of my own free will (which He has blessed all of His creatures with) determines what page of the book I turn to next. He gently nudges me along, and I can only benefit from following His loving guidance, but ultimately it is still my will which decides what page I flip to next. Is that predetermination? If it is, I thank God! Knowing that God is ultimately in control and that no matter what choices I make, His loving guidance will get me back on the right plot line in the book of my life, gives me such peace. Praise God for the book of my life and for His grace and mercies which are new every morning!
“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:11-13)
Oh, yeah…the next topic on my list is a recent picture of myself. I was hoping to avoid that, but am kind of shirking the duty a bit by putting up my Facebook profile picture. It’s one of the most recent pictures I have, so there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

