The Skin Map by Stephen R. Lawhead

Time and space travel along ley lines can be a bit confusing – especially if you don’t intend to do it. Just ask Kit Livingstone whose day starts out just as mundane as any other, until he stumbles across a portal to another time and place. There he meets his great-grandfather and learns that there are others who travel, including one seasoned traveler who created a map (and, yes, tattooed it on his body before he died) which reveals the secrets to safe and accurate inter-dimensional travel. However, the skin map is missing and he and his great-grandfather aren’t the only ones looking for it.
I hate to say it, but this book kind of disappointed me. After reading the description, I couldn’t wait to get started. Then I read the first line – “Had he but known that before the day was over he would discover the hidden dimensions of the universe, Kit might have been better prepared.” – and loved it! This book had so much promise. But once I got to really reading it, I became less and less excited. There were so many plot lines that Lawhead kept bouncing back and forth between that I could not seem to get fully invested in any one of them. I thought his descriptions vivid and almost lyrical, his characters kind of intriguing. Yet, I’d just start to really feel like I was getting involved in the story of one character and he’d drop that line and jump to another. I did love the historical detail he included, but that alone doesn’t make me desperate to read the next book in the series.
This book was provided to me by BookSneeze©. The opinions expressed in this review are my own.
Leave a Reply

