The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life’s Little Delays by Eileen Button

Eileen Button’s memoir, The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life’s Little Delays, is a collection of memories spanning the author’s life. Button shares a wide variety of her life’s events through vignettes which seem to illustrate how even the apparently unimportant or uninteresting moments – those moments in between the important stuff – of our lives can have considerable impact on who we are and how we live our lives.
Button’s writing is intensely personal, yet completely universal. We all have those moments where we are waiting for something to happen, yet what she helps us realize is that every little bit of every little day is a moment that God can use to teach us, lead us, transform us. I must admit, however, that I was a bit disappointed and struggled to get through the book which meant that it took much longer to read than it should have. I kept putting the book down and reading others. Had I not vowed to write a review, I’m not sure that I would have ever finished it. I truly expected more of a focus on God than I felt the book had. The most inspiring and enlightening chapter came nearly at the end (chapter 21, “Letting Stella Go”), so at least the book redeemed itself a little bit. Unfortunately, I still did not enjoy it as much as I had hoped to.
I received a free copy of this book from BookSneeze Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

