The Christian Zombie Killers Handbook: Slaying the Living Dead Within by Jeff Kinley

I took this book with me to a church function last weekend and got some pretty interesting looks turned my way. I spent quite a few minutes explaining to some of the more traditional people in my church that Jeff Kinley’s “The Christian Zombie Killers Handbook: Slaying the Living Dead Within” is much more that the cover lets on. It is both a fiction story about Zombie attacks and an examination of the Zombie that hides within all of us – both Christian and non-Christian.The story of Ben Forman and his family fighting the Zombies in their hometown is a fictionalized account of what could happen if we all just let our own Zombie natures rule our lives. The nonfiction areas describe how sin and grace are constantly at battle within us and what we need to do to keep our own Zombies in check.
Okay, I have to admit that the title of this book turned me away at first (two strikes against it: I’m not a big Zombie-lit fan and it was listed as a nonfiction book). But, on second look (or was it third or fourth?), I finally read the subtitle, “Slaying the Living Dead Within” and that intrigued me. Then I read the book description and saw that it was actually a fiction story (which I tend to enjoy much more than nonfiction). So I decided to try it. And I definitely do not regret that choice! But I have to be honest – I liked the nonfiction parts of “The Christian Zombie Killers Handbook” much more than the fiction – very uncommon for me. But the nonfiction sections were so well written, so full of Biblical truth, so reaffirming to my soul, that I gobbled them up! The fiction chapters were kind of interesting pauses, but I would not have minded if they weren’t even there. Kinley reminds us that no matter how long it has been since we gave our lives to Christ, we all still have that Zombie inside, that we need to face it and fight it every day, and that we can only do that by depending on God. Wonderfully done, this book is relevant for anyone – from those with questions about this whole Christianity thing to new Believers to life-long Christians – all can find a deeper understanding of our human nature and God’s love for each of us.

Leave a Reply

