Change My Heart

It’s a most wonderful time of the year – the beautiful season of Fall, where every peek outside reminds me of the glory of God. I love this season – the beautiful colors of the foliage, getting my sweaters out of the shed, the smell that comes with chopping firewood, Earl Gray tea! Fabulous!

Growing up in Arizona, I hardly got to experience Fall. We went from Winter (which could actually be bone-chilling in central AZ, even though it wasn’t that long), to a few months of rather nice Spring weather to a very long Summer (hot, hot, hot!!) to about two weeks of Fall (in, like, November). We NEVER went for drives to see the Fall colors – we probably couldn’t have found that many anyway (cactus doesn’t change colors to prepare for Winter!), except maybe on the Mogollon Rim. So, my decade here in Colorado has been one of coming to know the absolute joy of the Fall season.

Since I took a drive up to Yankee Boy Basin above Ouray last Friday, I have been thinking about God’s spectacular creation and how it never ceases to amaze me, to take my breath away. And if He cares so much about the leaves on the Aspen trees, how much more does He care about me? Fall is a constant reminder to me of the power of my God – to change everything from the leaves on the trees to my heart and spirit. I keep singing the old hymn in my head, praying the words, “Change my heart, O God. Make it ever true. Change my heart, O God. May I be like You.” May this always be the prayer of my heart.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.