One of my favorite things…Sparkle-y Snow!

Okay, so I don’t know if this happens everywhere, but growing up in Arizona, I never experienced this phenomenon until I moved to western Colorado. Quite often here, we have what I so eloquently call “Sparkle-y Snow.” This is when it is snowing and the sun is shining at the same time – the flakes fall from the sky and the sun reflects off of them in a magical dance as they twirl and whirl to the ground. The first time I ever saw it, it took my breath away…it was as if God was sprinkling glitter from heaven to decorate my world! I have found that it is nearly impossible to actually capture this phenomenon in a picture (definitely best experienced in person…maybe you should come visit!), but here are a few of my attempts:

If you look very closely at the sky (you can click on the pictures to see larger views of them), you can see the flakes falling (no, its not that I need to clean my lens; those actually are the snowflakes).

Winter has made a beautiful start here. Even the puppy, Madigan (with her favorite, deflated volleyball), and crazy cat, Smudge, are enjoying the little bit of snow we have gotten (the other two cats, Princess Buttercup and Oliver Twisted, have learned over their many years that it’s best to stay inside when there is snow on the ground!).


So, here’s wishing you all the very Merriest of Christmases. May the Lord bless you today and everyday, as you celebrate the day that Jesus was born to die, so you could one day pray that He would save your life. God give you joy!


Leave a Reply

