White Hydrangea

I was thinking about a trip I took to Vancouver a few years ago (and really wishing I could go back – I love it there!! Guess I’m going to have to start planning a visit!) and I couldn’t stop thinking about my favorite spot that I visited…Butchart Gardens on Vancouver Island. It is one of those magical places that I don’t think I could ever get enough of. Of course, I am completely obsessed with flowers (if you haven’t noticed yet!) and Butchart Gardens has thousands of them that change with the seasons. Just when you think you’ve seen all you can, you spy another, even more beautiful scene. That’s exactly where this picture comes from. My mom and I were walking out of the gardens to catch the bus back to Victoria, BC, when I turned around for one last glimpse. That’s when I saw it…the biggest, most beautiful hydrangea bloom I’d ever seen, tucked back in a small, covered area that wasn’t even on one of the trails! I’m not joking when I say that this was almost as big as a regulation-sized basketball! It was so breathtaking, so gorgeous, that I don’t even need the picture to help me remember it – it’s impressed upon my brain for all eternity. How glorious that God can take something that some people consider a weed (yes, I was devastated when my cousin told me she had tried to kill the lovely hydrangea that kept growing like a weed in the crack of their sidewalk, when I can even begin to grow them here!) and make it so amazingly beautiful. So, for those of you who haven’t been able to go to Butchart Gardens to see this wonder of creation, here it is…

This brings to mind Amy Grant’s song “Jehovah” :

Consider the lilies of the field
Solomon dressed in royal robes, has not the worth of them
Consider the lilies of the field
He takes after each and every need, leave all your cares behind
Seek him and you will find Your Father loves you so
I pray that He always helps us to appreciate the majesty of His works and I praise Him for His love.
Leave a Reply

