Photo Diary Project #1

Okay, so I read an article about photo diary projects and thought I’d try it out…unfortunately, my life is quite boring. So, my first try at this will not be chock full of interesting things, guaranteed. But here it is anyway.

Are you awake yet, Laurin??

 My day began the way it almost always does…with my dog, Madigan, coming to greet me. She usually cuddles with me for as long as I’ll let her. It’s kind of hard to resist her sweet, little face burrowing next to me!

Then, since it was Sunday (Pot-Luck Sunday, at that), I decided I’d best get up and make some brownies for Pot-Luck.

My goodness, the house smelled good! Which, of course, made me hungry…so I sliced myself up some of my favorite toasting bread (Cracked Wheat Sourdough – yummy!!) Unfortunately, I am really horrible at slicing…
One paper thin…one way too thick! Typical.
 Well, at least the brownies turned out!
 That is, they were great before I dropped them upside-down in the snow on my way to my car!
Oh, well. I tried. So, I took some cookies I had instead. At least it was a beautiful day that the Lord blessed western Colorado with!
The clouds broke and the sun came out as I was leaving.

 

 It turned into an absolutely perfect winter day – snow on the ground, sun in the sky. Crisp, cool air. Refreshing!
We’ve been studying about the Millennial Reign of Christ in Sunday School for quite a while and are currently in Isaiah chapter 60. I love my Sunday School teacher, Terry. He’s amazing – he and his wonderful wife, Karen, were Atheists who set out to disprove the Bible, but only found more and more Truth in it. His knowledge of God’s Word is awesome and I’ve learned so much from him. He and Karen are such amazing blessings!
Our Pastor has been working through the Gospel of John and this week was about Jesus’ final miracle that John records, the raising of Lazarus, in chapter 11. I found one of my favorite passages in that chapter as well, “Jesus replied, ‘There are twelve hours of daylight every day. During the day people can walk safely. They can see because they have the light of this world. But at night there is danger of stumbling because they have no light.’ ” (John 11:9-10) So many of my loved ones are stumbling around in the darkness of this world, because they have not turned to the light. It hurts me to think of how lost they are and how easy it is for them to turn that light on so they can find the Way, the Truth, and the Life.

About time you came home – I want treats!

After church, I came home to find my kitties waiting. Princess Buttercup greeted me at the door. She’ s getting close to 15-years-old, and she still believes herself to be the most important animal in the house (especially more important than me!). She has eye problems and tumors, but I don’t think she’s going to leave us anytime soon – she’d miss out on getting her Temptations treats if she died and that’s not going to happen!
Smudge couldn’t cared much less that I came home – she just wanted someone to let her out so she could chase birds and such.
And Oliver Manatee’s still not really speaking to me. He’s grumpy because I trimmed his claws a few days ago. Poor baby!
So, I decided to spend my afternoon curled up with a good book, drinking some tea, and watching the NFL playoffs.
If you haven’t read Joel Rosenberg yet, I’d highly recommend his books. They are fabulous! The Last Jihad is his first and it’s remarkable in that it was written before 9/11 and talks of a terrorist attack on the US and a war with Iraq! Can’t wait till I get to his latest, The Tehran Initiative.
Mmmm….Lady Grey Tea!
I wasn’t too interested in the playoffs – I didn’t care at all about the first game and I like both the Steelers (because my mom’s family is from Pittsburgh) and the Broncos (only because of Tim Tebow). Along with just about everyone else, I didn’t think the Broncos would win. It was quite exciting at the end there! This morning, the newscasters mentioned some statistics that they found interesting – Tebow threw for 316 yards with an average of 31.6 yards per pass. They speculated that the 316 numbers could equate with John 3:16. I think I’d be more impressed if Tebow had 289 yards with a 28.9 average, since in the past he has written Ephesians 2:8-9 (saved by grace) in the black marks under his eyes. 🙂
And the day ended with a beautiful full moon rising over Storm King. So, that was my day. Obviously there were a few other things in there, but I’m sure you’re so bored by now that to add more to this post would do you in. Hope your day was much more exciting than mine!
Leave a Reply

