Soul’s Gate: A Well Spring Novel: Book 1 by James L. Rubart

Battles are constantly being waged for souls. And Reece Roth knows that he has been chosen by God to teach other believers to help God fight for his fellow man, help them find true freedom in Christ. A prophecy was spoken over Roth, telling him that he would train up four warriors to actually enter other people’s souls and fight the demons lurking there. Roth has found the four: the Teacher, the Song, the Leader, and the Temple – and now their training has begun. But, in order to be successful in battling for the souls of their fellow man, they must first face down their own demons. The battles will either kill them or refine them, but they must trust that God is ultimately in control.

When I read the blurb for Soul’s Gate, my first thought was, “Ooh, spiritual warfare! Like This Present Darkness? I loved that book. If this is anything like This Present Darkness, I know I’ll like this book.” After reading Soul’s Gate, I must admit, it’s not just like a Frank Peretti novel. It’s a fabulous book in its own right, and Rubart’s writing is both intensely exciting and deeply Bible-based. I was truly sucked into the action, wanting to know what trials and freedoms the characters would find around each new corner. But even better than the captivating writing and well-drawn characters, Rubart connected nearly every nuance of the plot back to the truth of God’s Word. Soul’s Gate did what I expect a great book to do – it made me think, it made me question, it made me look differently at the world around me, and it took me deeper into the Word of God. What a ride!

I received a free copy of this book through the BookSneeze Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions are my very own!!

Leave a Reply

