Zondervan Essential Atlas of the Bible by Carl G. Rasmussen

9780310318576

I don’t normally review non-fiction works, but I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to take a look at the latest edition of Rasmussen’s Atlas of the Bible. And I must say that I really do like it! It’s chock-full of beautiful pictures of the regions referred to in the Bible, detailed (and easy-to-read) maps, and more information than I even knew I needed to help expand my understanding of the Word of God.

The atlas is split into two parts – the geographical section and the historical section. I was fascinated by some of the information and corresponding charts in the geographical section. One chart, entitled “Rainfall, Agricultural, and Pastoral Patterns in the Jerusalem Area,” shows how the average rainfall matches up with everything from cycles of agriculture to months of the year to Biblical feast days. So cool!

In the historical section, each chapter begins with timelines, showing rulers and major events in any kingdom that played a role in that era of Biblical history, and is full of information about the major people and events of that period (with Biblical references).

One of the best things about this atlas is that it is small – easy to carry to Bible study or church for quick reference. So much in a relatively small, light package. Concise and colorful. Definitely a good edition to anyone’s Bible study.

I received a free copy of this book from the BookLook Blogger Review program. I was not required to give a positive review. All opinions are my very own!

Leave a Reply

