Doon by Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon

_240_360_Book_1044_cover

Veronica’s life seems to be falling apart – her dad left years ago, her mom has a new (creepy) beau, her boyfriend has decided to move on to greener pastures, and she’s begun to have weird daydreams of a guy she’s never met. So, when her best friend, Mackenna, offers her a summer escape to a cottage Kenna’s inherited in Alloway, Scotland, she is grateful for the chance to get away. After arriving, the girls begin to hear local legends of the magical land of Doon. Veronica feels drawn to discover the truth, but will she find joy or heartbreak on the other side of the Brig O’ Doon?

Okay, I was totally excited about this book – after all, Brigadoon is one of my favorite movies of all time. Unfortunately, I have to admit that I was disappointed by Doon. I wasn’t necessarily disappointed by the re-imagination of the legendary land (I thought the authors did a decent job of explaining why they’d brought some modernization to the land), but by what I felt the focus of the characters seemed to be. So often, the characters talked of physical attraction and lust – far too often for what my expectations are in a Christian Young Adult novel. And the main characters, Veronica and Mackenna, pretty much profess to having no faith in God, yet through the story, they don’t truly gain faith either – their focus remains on the physical attraction they have for the princes of Doon. I guess that was a big hang-up for me, as I truly believe that Young Adult novels that profess to be Christian should help lead young readers to God, not leave them with mainly worldly expectations. It’s an okay story, but I personally wouldn’t recommend it to teenage girls.

I received a free copy of this book for review purposes from the BookLook Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions are my very own.

Leave a Reply

