Undetected by Dee Henderson

16c794e14bdad4668484259e96ba3be8

So I decided to try a book I normally wouldn’t read this time – Undetected by Dee Henderson. The premise is that Mark Bishop is a Navy submarine commander whose life currently revolves around his sub. Gina Gray is the younger sister of a fellow sub commander, whose scientific breakthroughs are constantly changing the way the Navy operates. After a rough break-up, Gina decides to spend some time with her brother, where she expands her research and meets up with her brother’s friend, Mark. The two become friends, then eventually more than friends, as God continually merges their paths both at work and at play.

Undetected has a lot of detail in it – I was fascinated by the descriptions of the inner-workings of a submarine, of sonar and solar flares. I now totally want to know if cross-sonar and undetectable pings are real or if she just did such a great job of writing them that they should be. As I understand it, Dee Henderson is an engineer by trade, and that really comes through in the specificity of this novel.

The love story, on the other hand, I couldn’t really get into. There were moments when I kind of wanted to reach into the book and give Mark a good smack – he didn’t even think twice about Gina as a love interest until she’d started dating someone else, then he started pursuing her so quickly and presumptuously that I almost got upset for Gina’s sake. I know an author needs to create tension in the plot, but it made Mark seem like a bit of a jerk to me. And he repeated himself a lot in his entreaties – maybe Henderson thought that the more Mark said something, the more Gina would believe it? Apparently that worked for Gina, but unlike the scientific detail, the love story wasn’t what I would call realistic. It wasn’t horrible, by any means, but not the best I’ve ever read.

So, I guess it is kind of a mixed-bag for me with this novel. There were aspects of the story that were very interesting and others that I felt the book could have easily done without. All in all, though, it was an decently enjoyable read.

I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for the blogger review program. I was not required to give a positive review. All opinions are my very own!

Leave a Reply

