Truth Be Told by Carol Cox

ecab8571c32caf3a3dc184c7ad70f271

Truth Be Told is the story of Amelia Wagner, who inherits her father’s newspaper in the fictional town of Granite Springs, Arizona Territory, in 1893. Her father’s maxim was taken from the Gospel of John – “…you will know the truth, and the truth will make you free.” – and Amelia vows to do her best to live up to that standard. Along with her new friend, Ben Stone, Amelia determines to finish what her father began by digging into the secrets of the local Great Western Investment Company. However, her search for the truth will lead her down roads that are fraught with danger. Will she be able to find the truth before the path gets too dangerous?

I love a good historical mystery (with a bit of romance mixed in for good measure) and Carol Cox’s Truth Be Told certainly fits that bill. Amelia is a delightful character. She suffers from the same faults that many of us wrestle with, and, as we all hope to do, she learns from them. All of the characters seem to learn wonderful lessons – which are so wonderfully and unpretentiously written I want to make copies of them to keep in my Bible, just in case I have someone ask me about some of the topics she covers, such as forgiveness.

To add a bit of icing, in my view, the story is set near one of my favorite places in the world: Prescott, Arizona. Growing up not far from there and visiting friends and family there at least once a year for my entire existence, made picturing the scenery more than easy. And Cox did a beautiful job of bringing such a lovely area to life.

Over all, a very enjoyable read. I’d definitely recommend this to lovers of historical fiction.

I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for the blogger review program. I was not required to give a positive review. All opinions are my very own!

Leave a Reply

