NIV Essentials Study Bible from Zondervan

_240_360_Book_1032_cover

I’ve been looking for a new study Bible, and I think I just found a great one. The NIV Essentials Study Bible combines the best bits from six different NIV resources – the NIV Study Bible, the NIV Quest Study Bible, the NIV Archaeological Study Bible, the NIV Student Bible, The Great Rescue Bible, and The Essential Bible Companion. Now, the first Bible I had after I gave my life to Christ was the NIV Student Bible, so that already holds a special place in my heart (even though it has completely fallen apart!). But the addition of the other resources brings this study Bible to a whole other level. As the tagline on the jacket flap reads, “We put it together so you can too.”

The books begin with introductions from the Essential Bible Companion, including a bit of background, maps, timelines, and keys to the book (concepts, verses, teaching, terms, etc.) for a great overview. Then the other resources are sprinkled liberally throughout the books with interesting and relevant information, questions, pictures, charts, and maps highlighting fundamental Biblical verses, chapters, people, and places to take your study even deeper. From archaeological information about pottery in the Bible to questions and answers, like “Are good works necessary for eternal life?”, and seemingly everything in between, this Bible has a plethora of ways to help you grow in the Word of God.

The only detraction that I can find with this study Bible is that it is a bit on the bulky side, as it would have to be to include so many resources. I took it to show my mom and that was what she noticed first – not exactly practical for little, old ladies and gentlemen (by which my church is heavily populated) to lug back and forth. But, if that is something you need to take into consideration, might I say that the pros SO “outweigh” (pun intended) the cons that I’d definitely recommend this Bible if you are looking for a good resource for Bible study.

It’s not just the “best of both worlds” – it’s the best of six worlds.

I received a free copy of this Bible from the BookLook Blogger Review program. I was not required to give a positive review. All opinions are my very own!

Leave a Reply

