James: Faith Becomes Real by Carole Arceneaux

_240_360_Book_979_cover

The day I found out my Bible study was going to be moving into the Book of James, I happened to see this commentary in the list of books available for review. I was so excited! Unfortunately, however, I did not find James: Faith Becomes Real to be the resource I’d hope it would be.

I really dislike giving a negative review, but I also have to be honest. Arceneaux’s commentary does have moments where it is lovely and insightful. Yet, so much of the book made me feel as if she was just trying to fill the page, to make her word count, wandering on tangents that I couldn’t seem to reconcile to the verse she was referencing. And between grammatical errors and often confusing word choice, I found myself having to reread sentences or paragraphs or even entire chapters in order to decipher what she was actually trying to say.

This could be a good reference for studying the Book of James, but I feel it would need quite a bit of reworking and cleaning to get to that point. So, I would not recommend this book at this time. Bummer.

I received a free copy of this book for review purposes from the BookLook Blogger Review program. I was not required to give a positive review. All opinions are my very own!

Leave a Reply

