Book Bites – Apple Cinnamon Scones

Another scone recipe, you ask? Well, yes. I’m not afraid to admit it – I LOVE scones!! I liked them before I went to Scotland and Ireland, but I came back absolutely, unashamedly addicted to them. And this recipe helped get some of the more reluctant scone-eaters I know (namely my father and brother, who thought scones were “girly”) totally addicted, too. I mean, what more could you ask for – sweet-tart apples and melty cinnamon chips in a flaky, biscuit-y chunk of yumminess. Need I say more? Maybe a picture would help…

IMG_8362

And the angels sang…

Mmmmmmmmm! Yummbly doesn’t begin to cover it. These things are divine! So, how do you make them? I started by dicing up an apple (I used a medium-sized Gala for this batch, but I’ve used Granny Smiths before, too, since I like tart, crisp apples. Just use whatever apple you like, cored and diced, peeled, if you want to bother.) IMG_8347 Then gather your basics: flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, and a little something extra for this one, apple pie spice. Don’t happen to have any apple pie spice on hand, don’t worry. One teaspoon of apple pie spice is made up of 1/2 t. ground cinnamon, 1/4 t. ground nutmeg, 1/8 t. ground allspice, and a dash of ground cloves and/or ginger. Easy-peasy! IMG_8349You’ll mix your dry ingredients and then cut in a stick of cold butter. Then stir in your diced apples and cinnamon chips. Cinnamon chips are one of my favorite inventions. I would put them in everything, if I could. I first used them in a simple, but yummy pumpkin muffin recipe – maybe I’ll have to share that recipe someday…

IMG_8350

And they are finally available in my local grocery store all year long, instead of just in the fall. Hallelujah!

Mix the apples and cinnamon chips in well – try not to steal too many of the chips. I know it’s tempting, but they taste even better in the scones. IMG_8354 Next, you want to whisk together your liquid-y ingredients: eggs, vanilla, and applesauce. I use no sugar added applesauce, because that’s what I always have in my fridge. Use whatever you like best, but remember that flavored applesauce will, obviously, tweak the final flavor of your scones.

IMG_8351

I get my vanilla on the cheap in Mexico, when I go to visit friends in Yuma, AZ. The last bottle I got said it was “Vainilla” – I decided to go with a more humble brand this time. Just as good, but not so narcissistic.

Go ahead and pour your liquid ingredients into your dry ingredients and combine them well.

IMG_8356

Turn your dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead a few times to finish bringing it together. Form into a rectangle and cut into sixteen pieces (or a round and cut into eight pieces – whatever makes you happy).

IMG_8357

Place your scones on a baking stone (or a baking sheet – lightly sprayed or parchment-lined and dusted with flour). Sprinkle those puppies with a blend of cinnamon and sugar (3 T. sugar and 1 t. cinnamon is what I use).

IMG_8359

You can brush some milk over the tops before sprinkling them to help the cinnamon-sugar hold on, but I don’t bother. Just as good without the extra step.

They’ll need to bake for 18-22 minutes at 425° before you can dive in. Trust me, it’s worth the wait! While you’re waiting, you can clean up (yeah, whatever) or, if you’re like me, you can pick up your book and get a few chapters in before the timer goes off. They should be lovely and golden when you take them out of the oven. Give them a few minutes to cool, so you don’t burn your tongue – make yourself a cup of tea (or coffee or cocoa, I’m not picky) in the meantime. Then grab your book, a scone (or three…), and your warm drink and snuggle in for a tasty book bite!

IMG_8367 copy

Here’s the recipe:

Apple Cinnamon Scones

2-3/4 c. flour

1/3 c. sugar

3/4 t. salt

1 T. baking powder

1 t. apple pie spice

1 stick cold butter, cut in

3/4 c. diced fresh apple

3/4 c. cinnamon chips

2 eggs

1 t. vanilla

1/2 c. applesauce

Preheat oven to 425°. If using cookie sheet, lightly spray or line with parchment and dust with flour.

Mix together flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, and apple pie spice. Cut in cold butter. Stir in diced apples and cinnamon chips.

Whisk together eggs, vanilla, and applesauce. Mix into dry ingredients.

Turn out onto lightly floured surface. Knead lightly to finish combining. Form and cut. Place scones on baking stone or cookie sheet, sprinkle with cinnamon-sugar mix.

Bake for 18-22 minutes. Let cool and enjoy!

Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in Him. -Psalm 34:8

*This recipe was originally from the King Arthur Flour website.

Leave a Reply

