Both of Me by Jonathan Friesen

_240_360_Book_1438_cover

When Clara meets Elias on the plane, she is both drawn to him and repelled by him. Yet, she can’t begin to fathom how this strangely intriguing young man will change her life. It begins with a mix-up of their bags and continues with a crazy, cross-country adventure, which opens their eyes and forces them to face their pasts.

I have to say that I was a bit disappointed in this novel. The premise was very intriguing: Clara, who is trying to escape her past, meets Elias who suffers from Dissociative Identity Disorder and is living two parallel lives, one “normal” and the other in his own world of Salem. Sounds kind of fascinating. And it was…at first. But as the story went on, I lost interest. I think the reason rests mainly in the fact that this is categorized (albeit as the 6th out of 6 LOC catalogue labels) as Christian Fiction, yet God is mostly absent. Clara calls Jesus a “non-god” for most of the story. When the author tries to bring God into the story, He’s not really glorified. There are just a few brief encounters that she promptly brushes off before going about her normal business. I didn’t feel that anyone in the story was truly changed by Him, which is one of my personal prerequisites for a Christian novel.

Aside from that, it is an okay story. A cast of improbable (and oddly trusting) characters thrown into bizarre situations made for a read that I got through, but unfortunately didn’t really enjoy. Therefore, I personally wouldn’t highly recommend this novel.

I received a free copy of this book from the BookLook Blogger Review Program. I was not required to give a positive review. All opinions are my very own!

Leave a Reply

