Deadly Echoes by Nancy Mehl

Deadly Echoes

Sarah is settling into her new life, and Sanctuary, MO is the perfect place for her to heal the wounds of her past and start anew. Then she’s hit with another tragedy. Her sister is murdered, and Sarah is determined to find out who did it and why her sister’s murder is so reminiscent of the way their parents were murdered twenty years earlier. With the help of the local deputy sheriff, Sarah will dig until she uncovers the truth, no matter the dangers.

Poor Sarah! She’s such a Job-character. Could any more bad stuff happen to this young woman? Yet, unlike Job’s friends, all of Sarah’s friends are strong Christians helping her keep her focus on God’s goodness and provision, not on her tragedies. Although, I must admit, for a bit more depth, it would have been nice to have a Devil’s Advocate in there somewhere.

My favorite moments in the story were when Sarah’s friends helped her find a new understanding of God’s love for her just as she is, not as she thinks she should be. When she said, “I spent a lot of years elevating my own insecurity above my faith in God’s plan for my life,” it helped me connect with her, since I’ve done the same thing. I still do, but like Sarah, at least I’m now aware of that tendency in me.

Other than those moments, though, Deadly Echoes, is what I’d call an okay story. The plot does move rather swiftly from one twist to the next, which helped keep my interest. However, the conversations are sometimes a bit stilted and can seem forced. If you’re looking for a fast-paced thriller with a few moments of inspired thought, this is a great choice, and I’d recommend it for that reason.

Deadly Echoes is the second story in Nancy Mehl’s Finding Sanctuary series (I haven’t read the first book, Gathering Shadows, but that didn’t hinder the story for me at all).

I received a free copy of this book through the Bethany House blogger review program. I was not required to give a positive review. All opinions are my very own!

Leave a Reply

