Arivaca by John Poulsen

ari

Jesse’s always been different, but when he gets mixed up in mayhem and shipped off to a ranch for troubled boys, he learns just why he’s so different from his peers. God has plans for Jesse, but Jesse will need to get past his unbelief and trust in destiny.

John Poulsen’s Arivaca was an intriguing concept developed into an interesting story. It was kind of superhero-ish, which I enjoyed, and was an entertaining read with an exciting mix of magic and mesquite trees, superpowers and flash floods, ancient relics and evil creatures. The setting is at the Arivaca Boys’ Ranch in Arivaca, AZ, a real place, and I find myself curious to know how closely the ranch and its activities in the story parallel the real Arivaca.

The story was only semi-biblical, and I had to remind myself that it was a work of fiction, so I shouldn’t worry too much about that. However, if you want your teenager to read this novel, I’d also recommend that you balance it with the true biblical history of ancient Jewish religious items. This way your child will be able to discern truth from fiction.

Otherwise, it was worth the read and has the potential to spur some really interesting conversations.

I got a free copy of this book through NetGalley. I was not required to give a positive review. All opinions are my very own!

Leave a Reply

