Midnight on the Mississippi by Mary Ellis

0736961690

Newly-licensed private investigator Nicolette Price needs a job. Where better to find one than with her cousin Nate just a few hours down river in the Big Easy? However, Nate’s latest case is a big one – his friend’s brother, Hunter Galen, has been accused of murdering his business partner and scamming his clients. When Nate falls out of commission, can Nicki solve the case or will she fall, too…under the spell of her murder suspect?

Midnight on the Mississippi is the first of the Secrets of the South Mysteries by Mary Ellis. It’s the first book I’ve read by Ellis, and it was enjoyable. Ellis did a good job of bringing out the atmosphere of the South. I do have to admit that I almost gave it up a few times in the beginning. Occasionally the character dialogue felt a bit stiff (which to me was an awkward way for born-and-bred Southerners to talk) and things were moving rather slowly. However, I stuck with it, and I do feel that the story and the dialogue got better as it moved along.

The question I always ask myself when I’m reading a book: was it predictable? The answer in this case: to an extent (especially the love story). Ellis did throw in just enough bumps to make me wonder if my mind was traveling the right road and happy to know that I had actually guessed correctly when I got to the end.

Overall, it was a decent diversion. Look for it to be released by Harvest House Publishers on August 1, 2015 (though, if you want to be first in line, it is available for pre-order on Amazon).

I received a free copy of this book for review purposes through NetGalley. I was not required to give a positive review. All opinions are my very own!

Leave a Reply

