The Ciphers of Muirwood by Jeff Wheeler

51mpEKce8CL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_QL70_

Maia has arrived at Muirwood Abbey to devastating news. But she is reminded that prophecy has dubbed her as vital to the restoration of the Maston Order, so she must soldier on and continue her studies to become a maston. When the abbey learns that her father, King Brannon, is coming to Muirwood to celebrate Whitsunday, Maia knows that her time is short. She must trust the Medium and her new friends to guide her through both her lessons and the web of intrigue weaving its way around Muirwood Abbey.

I was so glad to find Maia back at Muirwood – reading this was like visiting an old friend. And it was a treat to see Lia and Colvin (from the first Muirwood trilogy, if you are unfamiliar with them) again. As always, the story was enchanting, with both beauty and excitement, joy and heart-twisting complications. It was definitely hard to put down.

I must admit, however, that I wasn’t as comfortable with this story as I have been with the others. I know it’s a fantasy, but I found it hard to label it a “Christian fantasy,” because some of the religious aspects troubled me at times. Some ideas were not simply pseudo-Biblical, but really way out there, and they left me feeling wary. Yet, there were so many other moments, other poignant tidbits of truth sprinkled throughout the story, which would once again restore my sense of felicity and my love for Muirwood.

No matter what, it was a wonderful read and I would definitely recommend it. I’m excited to check out the third installment, The Void of Muirwood, which is coming in only a few weeks!

Many thanks to 47North and NetGalley for the free copy of this book for review purposes. I was not required to give a positive review. All opinions are my very own!

WHEELER_Muirwood_336x280-Cb

Want to learn more? Visit Jeff Wheeler’s website…

Leave a Reply

