The Glass Castle by Trisha White Priebe & Jerry B. Jenkins

cover79462-medium

Avery’s thirteenth birthday didn’t go exactly as she’d planned – after all, that was the day she was kidnapped by and old woman. The woman has taken her to the castle, where Avery is dropped off to hide in the unused areas of the castle with all of the orphaned thirteen-year-olds of the kingdom. There, Avery learns that even beautiful castles hold dark secrets. Desperate to escape and find her little brother and her father, Avery will need to uncover those darkest secrets and find the strength hiding in herself.

I had no idea what to expect when I started this story. I recognized the authors – Trisha White Priebe from A Sherlock Holmes Devotional – which I really like – and Jerry B. Jenkins from the Left Behind series (of course), as well as books like Riven and I, Saul. Honestly, the authors were why I decided to give this one a go. I didn’t realize how wrapped up in the story I would get…but it happened! It turned out to be a great coming-of-age fairy tale with well-crafted, interesting characters and enough mystery to keep you thoroughly engaged.

I would highly recommend this story to a wide variety of readers. As an adult, I definitely enjoyed it, and I can imagine that the target audience (middle grade youths) would relish it just as much. My only disappointment? The sequel (The Ruby Moon) doesn’t come out until the Fall of 2016!

Many thanks to Barbour Publishing and NetGalley for the free copy of this book for review purposes. I was not required to give a positive review. All opinions are my very own! 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Glass Castle by Trisha White Priebe & Jerry B. Jenkins

Leave a Reply

