The Calling by Rachelle Dekker

img_0338

Remko and his team are doing all they can to thwart the Authority and save their fellow Seers from state-sanctioned murder or worse. When they come across an unmarked building outside the borders of the City on one of their scouting missions, they inherently know that something sinister is going on. Then their group is helped by a stranger, and unusual things begin to happen, prompting some of the Seers to become almost paranoid with suspicion. Since he is their de facto tactical leader, Remko needs to decide what is most important to him: fighting to protect his wife, child, and friends, or surrendering his will to the only One who can save them all.

The Calling is the second book of Rachelle Dekker’s Seer Novels. I have not read the first book, The Choosing, but will say that the story stood alone well enough that I could easily understand what was going on. I really wanted to love this book – after all, I’ve been a fan of Rachelle’s father, Ted Dekker, since the beginning of his career. And I’m not saying it wasn’t a good book; I’m just saying that I didn’t love it.

There were things I really did like about the book: she had some beautiful things to say about faith versus fear and finding joy and peace in surrendering to God’s will (and it was during these moments that her writing really reminded me of some of her father’s work). But the overall idea and feel of the book was so like some of those popular mainstream series today (such as the Divergent, Delirium, and Matched series), that I found myself almost confusing the stories in my mind as I read along, making it seem a bit unoriginal and predictable. It was an entertaining story with enough tension to keep me reading, but I’m sorry to say that I don’t think I will go out of my way to read any other Seer novels.

Thanks to Tyndale House Publishers and NetGalley for the free copy of this book for review purposes. I was not required to give a positive review. All opinions are my very own! 🙂

Leave a Reply

