The Beast of Talesend by Kyle Robert Shultz

beast of talesend

From the cover:

Private eye Nick Beasley lives in a world where fairy tales ended a long time ago – where zeppelins now soar the skies instead of dragons, and where the first automobiles have taken the place of flying carpets. He’s made a name for himself across the Afterlands by debunking fake magicians and exposing fraudulent monsters. This is the modern age, after all. Magic and monsters are long gone.

At least, that’s what Nick believes. Until he gets magically transformed into a monster, that is.

The only person who may be able to help Nick is Lady Cordelia Beaumont, one of the last enchantresses in the Afterlands. But in order for her to cure him, they’ll have to retrieve a powerful artifact from a ruthless crime lord – who is also Cordelia’s father.

The fate of the Afterlands lies in the hands of a runaway enchantress and a monstrous ex-detective. What could possibly go wrong?

Perfect for fans of Doctor Who, Once Upon A Time, or The Dresden Files, the Beaumont and Beasley series features high adventure in a world where fairy tales are history.


My review:

So, I looked at the cover of this book many times as I passed by Kyle’s table in the Realm Makers bookstore a few weeks ago, and I must admit, I wasn’t sure it was my type of book based on the cover alone. But you know the old cliché…I learned my lesson about not judging by the cover! This was an absolutely charming, wonderfully interesting, refreshingly cheeky mash-up of fairy tale and noir detective novel.

As I read it, I thought it was almost like Beauty and the Beast meets Sam Spade—I even heard Nick Beasley speaking in Bogart-style voice in my head 🙂 Shultz took the classic detective novel, mixed it with a twisted fairy tale, and produced something that was more fun than either would be on its own.

This book was such an enjoyable diversion for me 🙂 I’m so glad that I listened to other reader friends who recommended Kyle’s books—so I’m passing the favor along! Go out and grab your own copy of The Beast of Talesend today.

Leave a Reply

