Truesilver by D.J. Edwardson

About the book:

A young man stained with his father’s failures. A sword of untold power. A legend rises.

Kion Bray can’t accept that his father was a coward. Bullied for his dad’s actions in the last war, the seventeen-year-old shepherd is determined to restore his family honor. And the only way to do it is to win the village’s annual sword-fighting contest.

Lacking experience and struggling to find time to practice, Kion fears he might only cause his kin further embarrassment. And with his biggest tormentor awaiting him in the competition and a dark army mobilizing to the north, his quest for redemption may come to a swift and bloody end.

Can a simple herdsman become a master swordsman before his hopes and his people are crushed?

Truesilver is the first book in the epic Swordspeaker Saga YA fantasy series. If you like gargantuan quests, towering bravery, and coming-of-age tales, then you’ll love this razor-sharp story.


My review:

So this was one of those fabulous stories that I stayed up too late reading, because I got so involved in the world and invested in the characters. I rejoiced and commiserated with Kion through all of his trials; I hoped that Tiryn would pull through; and I giggled (and maybe even snorted a time or two) at Zinder’s antics. The author did a beautiful job of crafting characters that I enjoyed getting to know and then placing them in situations that made me want to cheer them on.

It is easy to give this story 4.5 out of 5 stars, because I thoroughly relished reading it. And now I am so looking forward to reading the next book in The Swordspeaker Saga. 🙂

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Many thanks to the author and NetGalley for the digital copy of this book for review purposes. I was not required to give a positive review. All opinions are my very own! 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.